PDA

View Full Version : Google News


berto
10-22-2007, 10:26 PM
Is anyones site listed on Google news?

My news appear on Google news, newsnow etc etc but for some reason I can't seem to be able get my news picked up :o

Any tips?

aditya
10-23-2007, 03:47 AM
Our organisation has 2 websites listed by Google News. But we are using another script for news publishing as vivvo failed to list with google news.

berto
10-23-2007, 04:41 AM
Now that is ver interesting :o

Did you to not generate a news file yourself?

Mark
10-23-2007, 05:00 AM
http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&ned=us&q=vivvo

:)

aditya
10-23-2007, 05:26 AM
http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&ned=us&q=vivvo

:)

I don't understand what you meant by above link. Are you saying that "emediawire.com" uses vivvo?

berto
10-23-2007, 03:30 PM
http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&ned=us&q=vivvo

:)

That is actually a article about Vivvo written on Emediawire.

Emediawire is a news/pr publisher just like us.

I actually mean Google news indexing our news, we are listed as a publisher just like Emediawire.

berto
10-24-2007, 10:55 PM
From what Google say you have to have a minimum of 3 digits on your article URLs to get crawled.

I will have a look at this closer and let you know.

Will also get the Vivvo team involved see how we can create a solution.


:cool:

berto
10-25-2007, 07:34 PM
Ok yeap - you have to include 3 digits on your article URL as Google suggests otherwise they will not crawl your articles.

Google picked up my news (http://news.google.co.uk/news?hl=en&q=site:musicrooms.net&oe=UTF-8&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tab=wn&scoring=n)today. I had to add 3 digits at the end of every article url.

E.g www.mysite.com/urban/rihanna_release_new_single_201.html

Going to have to ask the Vivvo team if it is possible to somehow auto generate these article digits.

It gives you article digits if you do not give it a SE URL which is not really helpful.

munazip
10-29-2007, 05:27 PM
Ok yeap - you have to include 3 digits on your article URL as Google suggests otherwise they will not crawl your articles.

Google picked up my news (http://news.google.co.uk/news?hl=en&q=site:musicrooms.net&oe=UTF-8&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tab=wn&scoring=n)today. I had to add 3 digits at the end of every article url.

E.g www.mysite.com/urban/rihanna_release_new_single_201.html

Going to have to ask the Vivvo team if it is possible to somehow auto generate these article digits.

It gives you article digits if you do not give it a SE URL which is not really helpful.

Noticed your news articles you uploaded on 1 October 2007 had images next to the news article on google News. How can you make google news to crawl the image as well in Vivvo 4?

berto
10-29-2007, 06:30 PM
Yes this was with my previous CMS...

I am still working with Vivvo to see what best suits the Google crawler.

Will update on the image issue.

munazip
10-30-2007, 01:55 PM
Yes this was with my previous CMS...

I am still working with Vivvo to see what best suits the Google crawler.

Will update on the image issue.

I think its all to do with image referencing on Vivvo. Google crawler is more comfortable with images thrown into an image folder. For example if all Vivvo images had a url like http://www.mysite.com/images/my_image.jpg Google news would definitely include the images with the News. Do you know how we can clean the current Vivvo image url so it look like http://www.mysite.com/images/my_image.jpg?

nahuel99
10-30-2007, 06:06 PM
Is anyones site listed on Google news?

My news appear on Google news, newsnow etc etc but for some reason I can't seem to be able get my news picked up :o

Any tips?

We have the same problem.

Google news need the url with "3 digits", so you must have www.site.com/001.html or something like that.

The problem with Vivvo is that if you change the url name and put: www.site.com/category/your-own-url-article.html you dont have the "numbers".

Vivvo have the "original" article number too in the "dbase"... (friendly to google news)... but we didnt find the way to show, for explample, in a "page" the links of last news but linked to the "original" 001.html / 002.html name... Something like the rss... but not linked to "article-url-name.html"... just linked to the original url... with "numbers".

Anyone in vivvo can help with that? Is only change the way to show the articles... :)

Thanks!!

berto
10-31-2007, 08:11 PM
At the moment just manually ad the 3 digits yourself at the end of ur URL.

e.g www.mysite.com/news/this-is-a-story-343.hml


Read this post (http://www.vivvo.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1639)

nahuel99
11-09-2007, 05:25 PM
Ok.. but its a very "poor" solution.

We have 20 writers in our site... ask that to all is not good.

I think that is an "easy" solution for a programer... because vivvo "internaly" uses numbers in the url... so.. only we need a page that show the links in that way.

Any answer from Vivvo stuff???

Thank

Nahuel

berto
11-09-2007, 07:55 PM
They did say they will include this in the How-TO section but don't know when :cool:

northlandadv
01-26-2008, 03:52 PM
I have added a way to handle this in the HOWTO section:

http://www.vivvo.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2418

boccio
01-28-2008, 02:50 PM
http://www.google.com/support/news_pub/bin/answer.py?answer=68323&topic=11665


Article URLs

Your article URLs should meet these guidelines:

Be unique. Each of your pages that display an article's full text needs to have a unique URL that doesn’t change. We can’t include sites in Google News that display multiple articles at the same URL. For example, if your main news article is always located at http://www.google.com/news/story1.html, we won't be able to include this URL every time the content changes.

Display a three-digit number. The URL for each article must contain a unique number consisting of at least three digits. For example, our news crawler can't crawl an article with this URL: http://www.google.com/news/article23.html. It can, however, crawl an article with this URL: http://www.google.com/news/article234.html
If the only number in the article consists of an isolated four-digit number that resembles a year, such as http://www.google.com/news/article2006.html, we won't be able to crawl it.
IMO, this is just stupid... However, since we have to comply to Google standards we'll introduce this from the next version.


Here is a quick fix for ones who start from clean install. Execute this line of code from phpMyAdmin, or similar:

ALTER TABLE tblArticles AUTO_INCREMENT = 100;

northlandadv
01-28-2008, 03:09 PM
Thanks Boccio. Your resolution is perfect for technical users, and the other workaround is good for non-technical.

boccio
01-28-2008, 05:29 PM
Actually, I'm wondering what happens when your article reaches ID 2005, or 1986 or 2008... How will G crawl it? :)

northlandadv
01-28-2008, 06:04 PM
The answer would be to have 4.1 start articles at 3000. That way it will never resemble a year.

northlandadv
01-28-2008, 09:55 PM
So, if you're going to do a SQL query from PHPmyadmin use:

ALTER TABLE Articles AUTO_INCREMENT = 3000;

If you use tblArticles (as above) it won't recognize the table unless you used the tbl prefix when you set it up.

I have tested this successfully in a dev site which already had a count of 1500. Now it's starting at 3000.

Maquinasoft
09-25-2008, 10:52 PM
No queda del todo claro, cual es la real solución para que google news muestre las fotos?
Gracias,
Maxi